top of page

Feathers Pocket Shawl -I am officially a crochet designer!

Updated: Sep 24, 2021

My first official crochet design, The Feathers Pocket Shawl, has been released. How very apt that I woke up to see the announcement post on the CAL Crochet A Long website on International Crochet Day. What an interesting journey it has been. Little did I know that, when I decided to make my own pocket shawl, this would be the beginning of an adventure, an adventure that has been made possible by some incredibly helpful ladies, namely Laurene Leesburg Bluder, Tania Leis and Silke Karp. How did it all begin, you might ask?


As I have always enjoyed being creative and learning, I regularly try out new things, whether it be in the food line (I looove baking), buying new plants for my garden (flowers do something for my soul) or crocheting something (satisfies that urge to create). I, therefore, have an extensive YouTube feed as I subscribe to many channels. One day the Feather Stitch happened along and I had to give it a go. I am so very glad I did. It is a beautiful stitch, easy to do, but not so easy if just following written instructions as there are some quite unusual stitch placements. How thankful I am for modern technology and YouTube. Even though I am an experienced crocheter, having been taught to crochet by my mother over 45 years ago, sometimes it is just easier to have a visual.


Soon after discovering the Feather Stich, I saw how the crochet world was going crazy over Sonja Hood's Perfect Pockets Shawl and, being Autumn in South Africa, I thought it would be a perfect time to make a pocket shawl. I decided it would be easy enough to make my own shawl instead of buying the pattern as the rand dollar exchange is not at all favourable. All I had to do was crochet a rectangle, add pockets and a fringe and, voilà, a pocket shawl would emerge.


I picked up a beautiful blue/grey/white mélange DK self-striping yarn that we get in South Africa called Cupcake Wool (distributed by kismetyarns.co.za) and started my shawl. When I started, I did not realise then that the two cupcakes I had bought in 2019, would not be enough to make a pocket shawl as wide as most of the ones you see on the internet. Two cupcakes would perhaps have been enough yarn for a wider shawl if I had not chosen to use the Feather Stitch as it is quite a yarn eater. So, when I got to the end of my two cupcakes and went searching for another one to finish my shawl, there was none in stock. Oh dear! Well, as we say here in South Africa, "’n boer maak ’n plan" (a farmer comes up with a plan a.k.a. just make do with what you have and be innovative)! My shawl would just have to stay the width it was and I could widen it a little by adding a simple border, using the Camel Stitch, which would not detract from the elegance of the Feather Stitch.


Once I had finished my shawl, I posted a picture of it to two of the many FB crochet groups I belong to, one being CAL Crochet A Long. Not too long afterwards I was contacted by Laurene Leesburg Bluder, one of the admins of the group (she is also a FB friend) and was asked whether I would write up the pattern. In my naiveté, I did not initially realise that it was because they wanted to put my "design" out there for others to make as part of a CAL (crochet-a-long). I still find it hard to believe I am now a crochet designer!

The whole process behind releasing a pattern has been fascinating and has made me so much more aware of the huge amount of work that has to be done. How blessed I was to have ladies helping me to do this:

Laurene - thank you for enabling this whole journey in the first place and making the wonderful announcement on the group. If it had not been my pattern already, I would have jumped at the chance to make it. You made it sound so interesting and such fun.

You also spurred me on to start my own blog. I had half-heartedly already registered for a blog with wix.com, but had gotten no further before you contacted me. Now, as is evidenced by this post, you can see how you pushed me over the edge and I have had to learn to swim. Fortunately, my dear technical consultant (a.k.a. my husband) was able to help too.

Tania - where would I be without your videos and help with the pattern? Your help has been invaluable.

Silke - testing my pattern and helping with the pattern too.

Tania and Silke - in sending me pattern drafts to edit, you have also taught me a new skill (helped along by my wonderful husband, Ian). I can now confidently edit a document, add comments, see the pattern with markups or no markups and then upload it to the group.

I am not sure who all the ladies were that made all the beautiful shawls, but thank you for so graciously testing my pattern. It is much appreciated.


It has been wonderful to see the response to the announcement post and to see how many ladies will be joining the CAL - many shawls ready just in time for Winter in the Northern Hemisphere whilst my shawl has already been packed away till next year.


Below is a link to my shawl


402 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

FRIENDS AROUND THE WORLD CAL -Adventures in Mosaic

What an adventure indeed! Who would have thought at the beginning of 2021 that I would be one of the designers for the 6th Friends Around the World CAL, hosted every year by calcrochetalong.com. Defin

bottom of page