top of page

Tunisian using a double-ended hook

Exploring everything one can accomplish with Tunisian crochet, I came across Tunisian in the round or TITR for short. Oh my goodness, I had not even know that you could get a double-ended hook! A world of new possibilities opened up. Fortunately I found lots of help on the internet and I made Arunima Goel's Shine like a Diamond Cowl after managing to get a hook made by a local man. I was very pleased with the final product and used some Coffee Cotton. As it was my first project in the round, I had to make adjustments to the binding off side as I did not like what I had done, but I have since learnt so much more and now know what to do.



One day I sat down to experiment doing some Tunisian in the round following a YT tutorial on how to crochet Tunisian circles by Mikey of The Crochet Crowd. Once I had made the circle, now knowing how to use a double-ended hook, I just picked up the edge stitches and made myself a beanie. Below is the circle I made following the YT tut. I once again used Coffee Cotton and a 6mm hook.

Here is the finished beanie. As can be seen, I also worked with two colours. Unfortunately I did not write the pattern down as I went . I have done this so often in the past and really need to make a concerted effort to record what I do when "trying something out".

Having gained a lot of experience working in the round, I recently made a two colour cowl using the Tunisian honeycomb stitch . I did not use a pattern, but did add Kirsten Holloway's Secret Garden Neck Warmer edging. I really loved the black/pink combination and what's more, the cowl can be used reversibly to have a totally different look. As can be seen, I made a pair of matching fingerless gloves. You can also see in the photo what the reverse side looks like. I used some black scrap yarn (no clue what it was, some Kismet Yarns Lollipop DK and a 5mm/6mm double-ended hook. It is often advised to use a smaller size hook for the return pass.


My biggest, as yet uncompleted project in the round is Sandy Walker's Every Penny Counts throw which I got free whilst it was run as a CAL. I am still trying to pluck up the courage to do some frogging as I made a mistake, and, for those of you who have ever had to frog Tunisian in the round, it is not that simple! I am using Raeesah 100% cotton and my trusty 5mm/6mm hook.


To think, just a couple of years ago, all I knew how to do was Tunisian simple stitch that I learnt from my mother in the 1970's! What a fun journey it has been realising how much Tunisian has to offer. I will certainly be exploring new stitches and techniques in order to broaden the scope of what I can do.



8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page