top of page

Tunisian star stitch fingerless gloves

A week or so ago Marjolein Kooiman posted a video of the Tunisian star stitch on the Hooked on Tunisian FB-page and I thought that it was so pretty with the 2 colour-version. I decided to try it out and I'm so glad I did. Not only is the stitch pretty easy to do, but it creates such a beautiful effect.



I then decided to try and make some fingerless gloves for my 11-year-old niece from France who will be visiting us at the end of April. I was hoping to make them in the round, but due to the way the 2-colour version works, it had to be done as a flat piece and then seamed.


Below is my very basic pattern:


Yarn: Yarn A Chick Pullskein DK (an inexpensive yarn sold by one of our South African supermarket chains, Checkers) in a denim colour - colour 02


Yarn B Chick Pullskein print DK - colour 215 "Lilium". I had to cut the yarn and rejoin in places as I did not want the gloves to look different

Please note - this was just some scrap yarn I had.

Tunisian hook: 5mm


Pattern stitch: multiple of 3+2


Notes

Colours are changed on every RP.

A row constitutes a FP and a RP.


Row 1: Using yarn A, ch32, work as normal TSS for the first FP. Drop yarn A and

change to yarn B (all RP's are done as normal = pull through 1 loop and then 2 loops to the end) (32 sts).


Rows 2 - 19 : I then worked straight in the start stitch pattern for 18 rows (this gave me 9 of the pink (colour B) "half-stars".


Row 20 (FP only using yarn A): Bind off using sl sts.


At this point, my glove was 15cm (height) x 16cm (width).


I then seamed the glove up leaving a space for the thumb-hole (in my case 7 rows =14sts).


With a normal 4mm crochet hook and using colour A, I did the following:


Thumb-hole

Round 1: ch 1, hdc in each of the 14 sts, join with a sl st into the first hdc.

Round 2: ch1, using the 3rd loop (a.k.a. camel stitch) 3hdc, 2hdctog, 4hdc, 2hdctog, 3hdc (12sts), join with a sl st into the 1st hdc.

FO and work in ends.


Cuff

Using colour A, Join your yarn into the middle of the underside of the glove so that the join is under the hand).


Work the following into the 32 sts available

Round 1 : Ch1, 6hdc, hdc2tog, 6hdc, hdc2tog, 6hdc, hdc2tog, 6hdc, hdc2tog (28sts)

Rounds 2 and 3: ch1, hdc in the 3rd loop all around, joining with a sl st into the 1st hdc.

FO and weave in ends.








1 view0 comments
bottom of page