top of page

“Roses do not bloom hurriedly; for beauty, like any masterpiece, takes time to blossom.” - Dhliwayo

Updated: Sep 26, 2020

I so enjoy the advent of Spring thanks to the floral beauty to which I have ready access. What a delight it is to walk into my garden every day and see new buds popping up and then waiting for them to open in all their magnificence. Flowers have always, in their magical way, been able to cheer me up, make me more aware of God and his creative heart. There is just something so inspiring when I look at a flower: its design, its colour, its fragrance (if you're lucky), its shape, its size.


Roses have always been one of my favourite flowers. How can I not marvel at their beautiful perfection. Take this hybrid Grandiflora tea rose, for instance. Bred from "Stainless Steel" and "Singing In The Rain", this mustard, golden-brown tan rose is aptly named "Honey Dijon", and just stuns with its delicate colouring and little surprise spots of pink making a haphazard appearance.



Another beautiful rose in my garden is King David, a beautiful, delicately-scented peachy bronze rose that flowers profusely and delights with its colour changes as it ages: starting from a deep peach-yellow bud, transforming to a soft, delicate peach-pink.


One of my favourite little roses is Deloitte and Touche. What a delightful little rose that flowers profusely, enchanting you with its different colours of peach, apricot and pink with the blooms almost becoming a creamy white as they age so gracefully (as can be seen in the photo below). It forms part of the Eco Chic collection which means it has a natural resistance to fungal diseases.

Another beautiful rose (well, all roses are beautiful in my opinion), is Passion of St Peters. The combination of yellow, cream and pink just wows me every time.

The ageing rose is so different - bright pink with just a hint of cream and yellow at the centre.


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IRISES

bottom of page