top of page

Orchids - denizens of beauty

Updated: Oct 11, 2022

One wants to move through life with elegance and grace, blossoming infrequently but with exquisite taste, and perfect timing, like a rare bloom....... (Part of a quote by Tony Kushner)


Orchids have always been one of my favourite flowers and when we bought our home back in 2006, I was very blessed to inherit a whole lot of orchids from the previous owner. So started my journey into learning about the different types of orchids and the pleasure of seeing them bloom every year without too much fuss.


First are the dendrobiums or tree orchids. There is the dendrobium nobile with its striking pale to deep purple-pink with a characteristic dark velvety centre. It is the state flower of Sikkim in the Himalayas from whence it originates. The nobile I had was originally ensconced in my magnolia tree which unfortunately died a few years back (we think the ants were the culprits) and I have had to transfer it to some of my other trees like my bottlebrush, Duranta Sapphire shower (they have flowered for the first time this year) as well as in my pompom tree and my fir tree. Some are still just attached to pieces of the magnolia tree that died. All are flourishing and producing flowers beautifully. The nobiles generally start flowering in late August(although this is affected by a particular year's seasons).



Above is one of the very common nobiles, but there are many different colour variations/hybrids like the two I also have in my garden. The size of the blooms differ too.



Next is my oncidium altissimum "Dancing Lady" a delicate little yellow orchid with a brown centre. It thrives happily in the fork of my fir tree, produces many flower spikes and makes a spectacular show, usually in December.


Then comes the cymbidiums. These are ones I had.. I am still waiting to see whether the cymbidium )that is just leaves at the moment) will flower and which of the pics below is the one that has survived.



With increased knowledge I have now finally been successful at not killing my phalaenopsis or moth orchid that I received as a gift in 2018 for helping to organise a school reunion. Then it flowered early August, but at the moment, having had a much colder Winter, it has buds that are still waiting to open.


Other orchids I have are my epidendrums, commonly known as the Poor Man's orchid whose habitats include humid jungles, dry tropical forests, sunny grassy slopes, cool cloud forests, and sandy barrier islands. They are not just epiphytic either, but can also be terrestrial or lithophytic (growing on rocks). Mine, a pink and a red one, generally flower in September.



There are also my small little orchids, the first being the dendrobium Kingianum which is essentially lithophytic, but we have ours growing in the soil. It is also known as the pink rock lily.

We also have a mysticidium Capense or Bride's Bouquet orchid with its delicate white flowers. This showy epiphytic orchid is found on trees in the warm, drier woodlands of southern Africa. The plant has strap-shaped, dark green leaves up to 130 mm. Ours is still small and I look forward to seeing it look more like a bride's bouquet.




Lastly there is my Stanhopea which has never flowered, largely due to our neglect and ignorance, not realising that it was an orchid. We have been feeding it up and hoping that within a year or two we may get some flowers. Watch this space!

Update - it has flowered for the first time - quite remarkable considering it was an orchid left behind by the previous owners when we bought our house 15 years ago! It just shows what fertilising and care does!


Stanhopea - first ever bud Jan 2022


Such a beautiful flower


So, over the years I have learnt an enormous amount about these very rewarding flowers that are some of my favourites.

51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

IRISES

bottom of page