top of page

Simple Ear Warmer or Neck Warmer

Here is a simple ear or neck warmer that I made using some very old DK/light worsted yarn and a circular 4mm needle. I wanted to try out working in the round and had originally planned to make a beanie from the cuff up, but changed my mind as I did not have a pattern to guide me and I was not sure I would know how and when to shape the beanie.


Ear warmer size: 25cm width x 11cm height


Cast on 109 sts (this fits an adult size head - I think 97sts would fit an adult with a small head)

Transfer the 1st st you cast on onto the other side of your needle (so, it will now be after your last stitch that you cast on)

Knit the 1st 2 sts together (you will now have 108 sts) - this is done to prevent a gap in your join. Make sure you place a marker before the 2sts you knit together to signal the beginning of the row and move it as you finish each row so that you know where each row starts.

Knit 10 rows K2 P2 rib

Knit however many rows (I knit 12 rows) depending on the width you want for your ear or neck warmer.

Note: The great thing about using a circular needle is that:

1) There is no seam.

2) Even though you are just using the knit stitch (garter stitch if you were using straight needles), you land up with stocking stitch/stockinette. No having to purl and, for me, that is such a bonus, as it goes so much quicker!

Knit 10 rows K2 P2 rib

Cast off in K2 P2 rib.

Work in tails.



2 views0 comments
bottom of page